ACE2016 Begins This Weekend

​More than 1,800 higher education leaders will come together in San Francisco for ACE2016, ACE’s 98th Annual Meeting, beginning Saturday.

Key meeting details, including the full schedule, speaker information, hotel floor plans and more, are available on the ACE2016 app. To download the free app, visit your app store and search for “ACE2016” or “American Council on Education.” The schedule is also on the meeting website.

To join the conversation on Twitter, follow @ACEducation and use the hashtag #ACEMeetSF. Daily coverage of the meeting also will be featured on the ACE website and ACE’s blog, Higher Education Today.

Among the highlights:

Saturday, March 12

The ACE Women’s Leadership Dinner will feature a keynote address from Maria Klawe, president of Harvey Mudd College (CA) and a renowned computer scientist and scholar, on the subject of female leadership in academia. During the dinner, Lucie Lapovsky will be honored with the2016 Donna Shavlik Award. At a reception prior to the dinner, the ACE Michigan Women’s Network also will be honored for its work. Limited tickets for the dinner are still available and must be purchased in advance.

Sunday, March 13

The ACE2016 Sunday schedule is different from previous years. Along with the targeted meetings for ACE commissions and other groups, there is a full range of exclusive Presidents Caucus Sessions, as well as sessions that are open to all attendees, including Focus Zones, Leader to Leader Sessions and Master Classes.  On Sunday afternoon, Brice W. Harris, chancellor of the California Community Colleges, will keynote this year’s Robert H. Atwell Plenary, where he will discuss “Access, Success, and Accountability—Why the Rhetoric Doesn’t Matter If the Results Don’t Change.”

Monday, March 14

In a conversation led by ACE Board Chair Renu Khator, chancellor of the University of Houston (UH) System and president of UH, attendees will begin the morning with a plenary on how higher education can advance equity. Also participating in the discussion will be Kent McGuire, president and CEO of the Southern Education Foundation, and Marta Tienda, Princeton University (NJ) professor and director of the Program in Latino Studies at the Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs. During that session, Mario Sankis, a former Marine, retired police officer and cancer survivor who attends Eastern Illinois University, will be honored with ACE’s 2015 Student of the Year Award.

Nicholas Dirks, chancellor of the University of California, Berkeley, and Reid Hoffman, co-founder and executive chairman of LinkedIn and a partner with Greylock Partners, will discuss innovation in higher education at the Monday lunch plenary, where the new slate of the ACE Board of Directors will be voted on.

Tuesday, March 15

On Tuesday morning, there will be a full range of concurrent sessions, including a discussion on the upcoming United States Supreme Court Fisher II case involving race-conscious admissions and a session on the issue of guns on college campuses. The meeting will close with a plenary session on leadership in a changing world and University of Cincinnati President Santa J. Ono will be presented with the 2016 Reginald Wilson Diversity Leadership Award.

Other award recipients to be announced as part of the meeting include the ACE/Fidelity Investments Award for Institutional Transformation, the Council of Fellows/Fidelity Investments Mentor Award, and the TIAA-CREF Theodore M. Hesburgh Award for Leadership Excellence in Higher Education.


[SOURCE :-acenet]